How to Talk to God

Standard

This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.

1 John 5:14

We talk to God through prayer. In prayer, we get to express our needs, our desires and requests to God. In prayer, we come as we are, on our knees, humble before the Lord, exalting His name on high.

The bible verse reminds of several things:

1. Confidence. I experienced the doubt of the effectiveness of prayer. I didn’t think that prayers work. But God broke me, when all things fail and the only choice is to rely on Jesus through prayer – He answered my prayers. He is good and it is in His heart to bless us. In His perfect timing, He answers our prayers. Learn to wait on the Lord.

2. Approach. If we sin against the Lord, we tend to hide from him out of our guilt. Before we approach God, we should ask for forgiveness of our sins. Not because we are not yet forgiven by the blood of Jesus, but because we humble ourselves before Him and that we want to have a clear conscience and that we want to restore a fractured relationship with our Creator. Approach God as you are.

Search me, God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.

Psalm 139:23-24

3. Ask anything. Bills, Family, Relationships, Friends, Work, Rest, Food, Money – anything! Ask the Lord anything, I am reminded not to be shy of my requests.

4. According to His will. We are to pray according to His will. Obviously, we cannot pray for things that are of evil. Instead, we align all our prayers according to His will. That being said, It is important to know what God’s will is in our lives as a Christian.

If I regard wickedness in my heart, The Lord will not hear;

Psalm 66:18

5. He hears us. Believe that He hears us! Isn’t it a joy to know that our Creator, our Holy God, our Savior hears our prayers? Indeed it is! It is a priviledge to ask God our requests through Jesus.

I will remind myself to continually pray (1 Thessalonians 5:17), God cannot deny himself, He is faithful to all His promises.

Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.

Colossians 4:2

Fight our battles with prayer.

Kung may problema ka, wag mong dibdibin, TUHURIN MO.

Leave a comment